Angus Gunn, Ashley Smith-Brown and Kean Bryan have been called up to the England u17s squad for the Elite Stage Qua5lifying Round of the European Championships. - Manchester City FC

Accessibility links

Access other Manchester City products


Continue to

Continue to
mcfc academy
Season 2012/13

City trio selected for England u17s Euro qualifiers

  • 07 March 2013 11:45
  • Posted by @markbooth_mcfc

Angus Gunn, Ashley Smith-Brown and Kean Bryan have been called up to the England u17s squad for the Elite Stage Qualifying Round of the European Championships.

England face a triple-header of fixtures on their road to the UEFA U17 finals in Slovakia which take place in May.

Portugal, Russia and Slovenia stand in their way of a place in the finals, and with just one place up for grabs, manager John Peacock knows a huge task awaits.

“We are now getting to the crucial end of the season, which we have all been preparing for,” Peacock said.

“The prize of reaching the UEFA U17 Finals is a significant one, with the top team here qualifying for this important event.”

All three of the City trio in the squad have experience of featuring for the national team at this level, with Gunn playing two games of the recent Algarve Tournament, while Bryan and Smith-Brown both played significant roles in September’s St George’s Tournament.

If England do qualify from their group they will automatically book a place in the FA U17 World Cup in UAE later this year.

Congratulations and good luck to Angus, Ashley and Kean - we’ll keep you updated with how they get on here on


England v Portugal 23/03/13 - Walsall FC

England v Russia 25/03/13 - Burton Albion FC

England v Slovenia 28/03/13 - Burton Albion FC

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Angus Gunn (Manchester City), Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United).

Defenders: Josh Aina (Chelsea), Joseph Gomez (Charlton Athletic), Connor Ogilvie (Tottenham Hotspur), Ashley Smith-Brown (Manchester City) Ben O'Hanlon (Wolverhampton Wanderers).

Midfielders: Bamidele Alli (MK Dons), Kean Bryan (Manchester City), Charlie Colkett (Chelsea), Bryn Morris (Middlesbrough), Ruben Loftus Cheek (Chelsea), Dan Crowley (Aston Villa),

Attackers: Isaiah Brown (West Bromwich Albion), Mason Bennett (Derby County), George Green (Everton), Alex Kiwomya (Chelsea), Jerome Sinclair (Liverpool).

Like this? Share it.



City v Wigan

FA Cup with Budweiser

Sat, 11 May 2013 17:15:00 GMT


This site uses cookies. By clicking allow you are agreeing to our use of cookies.