Manchester City 10-man squad travel to Hong Kong for HK Soccer Sevens - Manchester City FC

Accessibility links

Access other Manchester City products


Continue to

Continue to
Season 2013/14

Young City squad heads for Hong Kong tournament

  • 21 May 2014 11:32
  • Posted by @porter_mcfc

City are set to compete in the 2014 HKFC Citibank Soccer Sevens this weekend.

A young squad, made up of ten players from this season’s impressive under-18 team, have travelled to Hong Kong for the under-21 tournament, which kicks off on Saturday.  

Charlie Albinson, Ashley Smith-Brown, Pablo Maffeo, Nathaniel Oseni, Angelino, James Horsfield, Kean Bryan, Denzeil Boadu, Brandon Barker and Thierry Ambrose have all been selected to take part, managed by under-18 Head Coach, Jason Wilcox.

Hong Kong

City have accepted their invitation for the second time, having made their debut in the competition in 2013. The Blues fielded the youngest squad in the tournament, but won their group and reached the quarter final stage in the cup competition and finished as runners-up to Aston Villa in the shield.

Wilcox said: “We’ve had a terrific season so far, so it’s nice to finish off the season in Hong Kong and hopefully we’ll go further than we did last year. That’s going to be our objective.

“We’re going to have a young squad again and we have some players to watch out for.”

...Jason Wilcox...

He added: “We learned an awful lot last year. We learned about the style of play that you need. First of all, you need players that can get around the pitch as it’s a physical test and you must retain the ball.

“You need good players who can dictate the game and who recognise situations, like when there’s an opportunity to take somebody on in the right areas. You need players who are good in one-on-one situations. Trying to find players who have all of those attributes is difficult, but we think we’ve got all these attributes between our players.”

The Blues have been handed a chance for revenge, after being drawn in the same group as Rangers, who knocked them out of the cup last year. City have been drawn as top seeds in Group C alongside Rangers, as well as Hong Kong First Division side BC Rangers and Singapore Cricket Club.

Their campaign gets underway on Saturday at 10.25am local time, when they face Singapore Cricket Club.

Other English teams competing in the tournament include Chelsea, Aston Villa and 2013 winners, Leicester City.

You can view the full schedule at and we’ll let you know how the squad gets on right here on

Main Tournament

Group A: Newcastle United (ENG), Guangzhou Evergrande (CHN), HKFA U-23 (HKG), Hong Kong Football Club (HKG)
Group B: Chelsea (ENG), Sunderland (ENG), Kitchee (HKG), HKFC Captain’s Select (HKG)
Group C: Manchester City (ENG), Rangers (SCO), BC Rangers (HKG), Singapore Cricket Club (SIN)
Group D: Leicester City (ENG), Aston Villa (ENG), HKFA U-21 (HKG), Yau Yee League Select (HKG)

Like this? Share it.

This site uses cookies. By clicking allow you are agreeing to our use of cookies.