Blues set for 2014 Guinness International Champions Cup - Manchester City FC

Accessibility links

Access other Manchester City products


Continue to

Continue to
guinness champions cup
Season 2013/14

Blues set for 2014 Guinness International Champions Cup

  • 04 February 2014 15:00
  • Posted by @NieldyMCFC

City will compete for the 2014 Guinness International Champions Cup in the United States this summer.

The Blues join an A-list cast of European footballing superpowers in the competition held for the first time in 2013.  

It will be the club’s third visit to the United States in four years after the 2012/13 post-season trip to New York and St Louis and the 2010/11 pre-season tour.

This second annual Guinness International Champions Cup is being staged across 13 cities in the US, including Charlotte, Dallas, Denver, Minneapolis, New York, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Washington DC and one additional venue to be named later.

The tournament will kick-off on July 26 and the final will be held in Miami on August 4.

The full line-up of teams participating in this highly-anticipated competition is:

  • AC Milan
  • AS Roma
  • Inter Milan
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester City
  • Manchester United
  • Olympiacos
  • Real Madrid

These eight clubs account for 150 domestic titles, 88 domestic cups and 27 UEFA Champions League trophies, as well as five of the 23 2013 Ballon d’Or nominees – a list which included three-time African Footballer of the Year, Yaya Toure.

The tournament was launched at 10am Eastern time at Miami Gardens, Florida, by tournament organiser’s, Relevent Sports.

“Year one of the Guinness International Champions Cup set the new gold standard for soccer in the United States,” said Charlie Stillitano, Relevent Sports CEO. “Our only goal was to provide fans with the best football experience in their own backyards.

“We look forward to building on these successes in 2014.”

Teams will be divided into two groups for round robin play, meaning that each side will play at least three matches, before the winner of Group A and Group B meet in the final.

Following is a list of all participating venues, with one additional “marquee” venue to be announced at a later date:

  • Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Chicago, Illinois
  • Dallas, Texas
  • Denver, Colorado
  • Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • New York, New York
  • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Phoenix, Arizona
  • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • Washington DC
  • FINALS – Miami, Florida

The competition will be broadcasted in countless nations around the world, including exclusive coverage for the UK and Ireland audience on Sky Sports.

Real Madrid will defend the title they won on August 7 2013, thanks to their 3-1 win over Chelsea at the Sun Life Stadium in Miami.

City will learn the identities of their opponents in the tournament, where in the country they will play and on what date when a further announcement is made on Tuesday 20 February 2014.

We’ll have full ticket information for City supporters on as soon as details are released.

More information about the tournament can be found at

Like this? Share it.

This site uses cookies. By clicking allow you are agreeing to our use of cookies.